Saturday, January 5, 2019

Categories of Reservation Quotas in Indian Railways

Types of Reservation Quotas in Indian Railways

Ministry of Railways
Categories of Reservation Quotas in Indian Railways

With a view to cater to requirements of different categories of passengers served by Indian Railways, available reserved accommodation is distributed broadly under following types of reservation quotas:

1.GeneralGeneral Public
2.TatkalGeneral Public
3.Premium TatkalGeneral Public
4.Parliament HouseHon’ble Members of Parliament (Sitting and Former)
5.LadiesFemale passenger travelling alone or in a group of female passengers
6.Senior CitizenCombined quota for senior citizens, female passengers above 45 years & pregnant women
7.Foreign TouristForeigners
8.DefenceDefence Personnel
9.RoadsideGeneral Public
10.PooledGeneral Public
11.Cancer PatientCancer Patients
12.RAC(Reservation Against Cancellation)General Public
13.Physically HandicappedDivyangjan
14.Duty PassServing/retired Railway employees travelling on Duty/Privilege/Post retirement complimentary passes etc. in specified trains
15.Railway EmployeesDesignated Railway employees travelling on Duty in trains
16.YuvaUnemployed persons between the age of 15 & 45
17.EmergencyUrgent travel requirement of High Official Requisition (HOR) holders, Members of Parliament, and general public

While booking reserved tickets through the website of Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation(IRCTC), passengers can book tickets under General Quota, Ladies Quota, Foreign Tourist Quota, Premium Tatkal Quota, Tatkal Quota, Senior Citizen Quota, and Physically Handicapped (Divyangjan) Quota. In addition to the above quotas, accommodation can also be allotted under Reservation Against Cancellation(RAC) & Pooled Quota while booking reserved tickets through website of IRCTC. These reservation quotas constitute approximately 94% of total reserved accommodation available on Indian Railways, which can be booked both through internet as well as through computerised Passenger Reservation System (PRS) of Indian Railways.

To avoid any misuse, this facility is generally not extended for those quotas which require prior physical verification of documents. However, recently this facility has been extended to persons with disability, Press correspondents and Defence Personnel. Extension of such facilities to different categories of passengers is a continuous and ongoing exercise.

This information was given by the Minister of State of Railways, Shri Rajen Gohain in a written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha today.

Source: PIB


Post a Comment

Now Trending

Expected DA January 2021 - AICPIN for November 2020 increased by 0.4 points

  Expected DA January 2021 - AICPIN for November 2020 increased by 0.4 points Expected DA January 2021 Consumer Price Index for Industri...


All efforts have been made to ensure accuracy of the content on this blog, the same should not be construed as a statement of law or used for any legal purposes. Our blog "Central Government Staff news" accepts no responsibility in relation to the accuracy, completeness, usefulness or otherwise, of the contents. Users are advised to verify/check any information with the relevant department(s) and/or other source(s), and to obtain any appropriate professional advice before acting on the information provided in the blog.

Links to other websites that have been included on this blog are provided for public convenience only.

The blog "Central Government Staff news" is not responsible for the contents or reliability of linked websites and does not necessarily endorse the view expressed within them. We cannot guarantee the availability of such linked pages at all times.

Any suggestions write to us